The great burrito hunt: Big Fat Burrito

I used to say I had never met a chicken wing I didn’t like. Then I started trying the really good ones and I upped my standards. Since I found the best chicken wings in Toronto (see sidebar for links and reviews) I decided to indulge in another of my favourite foods: burritos.

Yesterday I went to Big Fat Burrito in Kensington Market. It’s at 285 Augusta Avenue on the corner of Oxford and Augusta. The phone number is 416-913-7487 (you can phone in your order and just go and pick up your burrito when ready).

They don’t have anything but burritos and soft drinks and I waited just under 10 minutes for my 6 large burritos to be ready.

Small burritos are 10″ and large are 12″. Pulled pork, grilled steak, grilled chicken and yam are $6.00 for the small and $7.25 for the large. The vegetarian burrito is $4.75 for the small and $6.00 for the large. They also have a breakfast burrito until 3 PM (I believe it is scrambled egg), it’s $5.50 for the small and $6.50 for the large. Taxes are included in all prices.

The included toppings are: vegetarian refried beans, mexican rice (that means red), guacamole, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, green onions, green peppers, jalapeños, hot sauce or salsa, tangy garlic burrito sauce (garlic mayonnaise) or sour cream. I like it that you don’t have to pay extra for the guacamole (unlike at Burrito Boyz or Quesada). Extra cheese or guacamole or burrito sauce is $0.75.

They also have some side dishes (the same things that go inside the burritos): mexican rice $2.50, vegetarian refried beans $0.75, small guacamole $1.50 and large $3.00. There are 9 tables inside the restaurant for 2 to 3 people each. This makes the place an authentic burrito joint, where it’s mainly take-out.

Some of my friends tasted the burritos with me (what? did you really think I ate 6 burritos by myself?). They appreciated that the burritos are grilled, and thought it makes them lighter and easier to the stomach. The taste was good, but according to one of my tasters the pulled pork burrito was better last week; I believe this may happen according to who’s cooking them. They also thought they were a bit bland (as in not very seasoned), and some people who asked for spicy (including me) said they could have used more spice. I was disappointed that they weren’t spicier and I think they might have gotten confused or nervous because I ordered 6 burritos and they were all different (some were medium, some were spicy, some were mild). I can say that other times the burritos have been better, but they weren’t bad at all.

Big Fat Burrito is an amazing place to go for an affordable and quite healthy lunch or dinner. I really recommend it.

Email me!

Leave a comment