On Monday I went to a chocolate-making class at Loblaws. Originally, Sam and Clarissa had signed up to learn how to make their own chocolate truffles to give as Christmas presents. I joined them, really without any intention of giving chocolate as a gift. I don’t give those many Christmas presents and I was not really excited about the chocolate, actually I think sometime I had already taken the chocolate-making class. It all sounded familiar, though I don’t remember well if I really took it. The class was from 6 to 9 on Monday and I had a nice time, but I had a little problem with the cookie dough. It was too floury and my cookies ended up too thin and kind of broken. I made a little teddy bear who was missing a hand and a foot :(. But after baking the cookies turned out fine. While I was fighting with the cookie-dough Sam and Clarissa were learning how to actually make the truffles (the ball-making part) and I paid no attention to that. I wasn’t really interested and it was sad that they had all drank hot chocolate with whipped cream and I wasn’t able to because of the milk. So I spent my time with the cookie-dough.

We left and each of us took a little cellophane bag with some truffles, some cookies and other stuff.

The next day I was really hungry and took a bite of the truffles… What a pleasant surprise to find out they were actually DELICIOUS! And I know how to make them. Although I did not pay attention to the ball-making part of it and Clarissa told me that it is the most difficult part. So I’ll probably be giving them out for Christmas anyway. They are just sooooo delicious it’s unbelievable.

On Tuesday I went with Beverlee to an event, I really had no idea what it was all about, but it turned out to be fine. First we both forgot the address and had to actually go to an Internet cafe on Queen Street to see it on my Yahoo account. In the event two very interesting people talked about their careers and it was fine. I miss those activities, just going somewhere attending a conference or a book presentation. I used to do it all the time. I think that is how my interest in vampires began, after attending a certain talk about vampires I became a fan of the undead. I think this is the first time I attend this kind of event it since I arrived to Toronto almost two years ago. I think Beverlee had a good time too and it’s a good start in this type of things.

After that, I worked late the rest of the week.

This morning I went to see an apartment that came to my price range in that building on (CENSORED). It is on the 11th floor and looks west, it has a really nice city view, you can actually see the CN Tower, and if you look out the window to the left you can see the lake. It is really neat. I told Ernest, my agent, to find out if these people will accept my price, I cannot really offer what they want, but I can offer good money for it. I don’t know what will happen, but keep your fingers crossed. I am a little scared since last time the other people did not accept my offer because it was too low, that apartment was on the 7th floor but had a locker and a balcony (though it looked north to the courtyard, not very bright).

Today I left work at about 6 and just went down for chicken wings and came back home. It’s been a good and productive week.

Leave a comment